This article describes how to create and manage Blocks on your Learn Totara site.
- Introduction to Blocks
- Manage Blocks
- Adding Blocks
- Block Configuration
- Hiding Blocks
- Docking Blocks
- Block Headers
- Block Borders
- Moving Blocks
- Deleting Blocks
- Block Regions
Introduction to Blocks
Blocks are items which may be added to almost any page in Totara and can be used to add additional content or functionality to pages throughout your Totara site that are useful to users.
For example, a Course completion status block may be added to a course page so that learners can quickly access and view their course progress, or a Calendar block might be added to the site front page so that site users can see a list of events.
Blocks are managed by a site administrator or another role with the Manage blocks (site:manageblocks) capability. To manage which blocks are available on your site and to access block settings access Site Administration >Plugins > Blocks > Manage blocks.
A list of blocks will be presented in a table providing information about each block, including additional options (where applicable):
There are a number of blocks available which are standalone, such as the HTML or Featured Links blocks, and some that work with content, such as the Quiz results or Current Learning blocks.
To add a block to the front page or a course page follow these steps:
- Select Turn editing on for the particular page.
- Select the Add block icon () in an available block region (these are indicated by a rectangle with a dotted outline).
- Select the required block from the list - either by scrolling down the list of available blocks or entering the name of the block in the Search field.
After adding a block, click the edit icon in the block header to configure it.
All blocks have a set of common configurations and some blocks have settings specific to the block type. Both the common and specific (Custom) block configurations can be accessed when editing is turned on, by clicking the cog icon ( ) and then selecting Configure [ name ] block.
Block configurations are broken into sections:
Where this Block Appears
Configure the default display location and positioning for all instances of this block type.
On This Page
A user can choose to hide a block from their own display by selecting the Hide icon () within the header of the corresponding block. The Hide option collapses the content of the block but the block header (where shown) will still display. Blocks can be re-added by using the Show icon ().
Individual Blocks can be prevented from being hidden by users via the block Configuration settings.
A user can also choose to move a block to the Docking area by selecting the Dock icon () within the corresponding block header. A docked block can be viewed by clicking on it's title within the docking area. Blocks can be moved back to main area of the page using the Undock icon ().
The block header area is where (by default) a Block Title displays and where the Hide, Show, Move and Configure icons are located. A block header can be removed from all user's view within the Block's Configuration settings under Block appearance (when in editing mode).
A block border is the outline around the contents of a Block. A block border can be removed from all user's view within the Block's Configuration settings under Block appearance (when in editing mode).
Blocks within the front page, courses or Dashboards, can be moved to other available block regions using the following steps:
- Select Turn editing on for the particular page
- Select and hold the Move icon () within the block header
- Drag and drop the selected block to it's new location
If a block can be moved to a new region, it will display in preview before you confirm its location by releasing the block.
Blocks can be removed from a page using the Delete block option within the block Action options. When editing is turned on, by clicking the cog icon ( ) and then selecting Delete [ name ] block.
A block region is an area within the front page, a course or Dashboard where a block can be added and displayed.
Available block regions are shown when in editing mode and indicated by a rectangle with a dotted outline and the Add block icon ().